29 July 2012

Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Syrenka Series by Amber Garr

Title: Promises (The Syrenka Series #1)
Author: Amber Garr
Pub. Date: Dec. 7, 2011
Find "Promises":
Amazon / B&N / Smashwords

Sometimes following your heart can end up destroying the ones you love.

When seventeen-year-old Eviana Dumahl is faced with the responsibility of an arranged marriage and clan leadership, she is forced to choose between the life required of a mermaid and one of a teenage girl simply infatuated with the wrong guy. Kain, her devoted fiancĂ© would make a wonderful husband except that she’s been in love with Brendan, a shape-shifting selkie, ever since they were kids. Choosing to abandon her family, her clan, and her life with Kain will have dire consequences far beyond anything she could have imagined.

A war is brewing amongst the clans and Eviana unwittingly becomes a pawn in the intricate schemes of a twisted mastermind. With Brendan’s life on the line, she has no choice but to involve those who she once considered friends. Amidst encountering senseless tragedies and immense loss, Eviana discovers that she is more valuable as a clan leader than anyone ever suspected. Her survival is not only dependent upon the loyalty of her friends, but also on her acceptance of a life that she had so adamantly tried to escape.

Promises is the first book of The Syrenka Series trilogy following Eviana and her friends through the perils of growing up in a discrete world that inherently threatens human society.

Title: Betrayal (The Syrenka Series #2)
Author: Amber Garr
Pub. Date: Feb. 20, 2012
Find "Betrayal":
Amazon / B&N / Smashwords

Eviana Dumahl has returned home as a clan leader, an orphan, and a heartbroken teenage girl. Her parents are dead and her boyfriend, Brendan, has decided that he needs some time away. While battling her inner turmoil, Eviana is forced into the war that Lucian Sutherland has incited amongst her own kind. With the help of Kain, her friend and formally betrothed, the two work together to prove that they deserve their birthrights as young merfolk leaders.

When the Council requests a demonstration of Eviana’s mermaid powers, she finds herself with an opportunity to win back Brendan’s heart. But her orders to train with a repulsive merman and the presence of an attractive new suitor challenges Eviana to embrace her leadership and resist temptation. Lucian is after her, and no one seems to understand why. Loyalties are tested as the casualties increase, showing Eviana that sometimes it is impossible to delineate between friends and enemies.

Betrayal is the second book of The Syrenka Series trilogy following Eviana and her friends as they navigate through the challenges of existing in a secret world.

Title: Arise (The Syrenka Series #3)
Author: Amber Garr
Pub. Date: July 4, 2012
Find "Arise":
Amazon / Smashwords

With power comes the responsibility to accept its consequences.

After the betrayal of those closest to her, Eviana Dumahl struggles to cope with her new reality. Kidnapped, broken, and confused, she is forced to engage in a war that will alter merfolk politics forever. With her estranged father leading the charge, Eviana has no choice but to stand by his side. Her continued existence hinges on the acceptance of the power growing inside her, even when that means embracing the family’s dark lineage.

Kain Matthew will sacrifice the world for Eviana. And he is not alone. As time runs out, her friends fight to save her life and theirs. An unlikely alliance gives them the edge they need to take a stand, although it keeps Eviana’s heart trapped in the past. A new discovery explains some of her previous mistakes, but it may not be enough to stop her father’s plans. Merfolk, selkies, and water sprites work together to save their kind, only in this final battle, not everyone will survive.

In the striking series conclusion, Eviana will learn the true meaning of power, sacrifice, and love.

~From the Author~

The Syrenka Series in Six Words

– Eviana is faced with a lot of decisions in the series, and she doesn’t always make the right one.  The choice to listen to her parents and follow their plan proves to be one of the hardest for her, and even though she went one direction in Promises, she finds herself coming full circle by the end of Arise.

2.Secrecy – In this series, merfolk and the other water creatures like selkies and sprites live in secret amongst the humans. However, there are some who want to change the way they interact with the world and Eviana finds herself trapped in the middle of the battle.

3.Friendship – The relationships between Eviana and her friends are the ones that help get her through everything.  Some of these evolve slowly, others develop into something much deeper.  But through it all, each relationship is important to her and helps guide her into becoming the clan leader she was meant to be.

4.Love – Love for family, each other, and the secret they protect is central to the story in each book.  Eviana learns how love can mean different things and the extent some will go to prove how much it means to them.

5.Water – A mermaid series wouldn’t make sense without a water component.  Although my mermaids spend equal time on land passing as humans, catering to their other half is essential to their survival.  Additionally, water sprites and selkies are an important part to their world, and Eviana discovers this as the series progresses.

6.Loyalty – In war, someone’s true intentions may not ever be known.  Unfortunately, as the title Betrayal might imply, Eviana is surrounded by people she can’t always trust.  Even up until the final battle, she finds that those closest to her often have ulterior motives.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

~About the Author~

Website / Blog / Facebook / Goodreads
Email: amber@ambergarr.com


  1. Sounds like a great series! Thanks for the chance to win!

  2. Thank you for posting Christy!