09 August 2017

Checking Out the Folsom City Zoo

in honor of my semi-vacation -- floating through some rentals in the northern California area until our new home is finished being built -- I decided to head to the nearby Folsom City Zoo Sanctuary with my sister and my kids. It was pretty inexpensive and we're currently only twenty minutes away, so I just had to take the family!

It took us about an hour to get through the whole thing but every second was well-spent. From monkeys to tigers, to bears, and deer--my children were pleasantly entertained and I felt good for visiting a zoo that's really a sanctuary for animals in need.

31 July 2017

I'm Really Alive...

...I promise!

I haven't forgotten about Captivated Reading. I'm still here. However, to say that there have been a lot of things going on, would be an understatement. The most pressing being that I'm moving.
We're actually buying our first house!

But it's not going to be done being built until September so until then my large family of seven will be bouncing a bit between rentals in our area until we can move into our home.
The sad part is that I'm leaving the only hometown that I've known in my entire thirty-four years of life.

I plan on coming back to Captivated Reading and resuming my reviews. I am, however, going to be making some changes and revamping things a bit, but...more on that later.

I hope everyone reading this is having a great summer!

12 May 2017

Deadmen Walking: A Deadmen's Cross Novel: Blog Tour & Review

Title: Deadmen Walking: A Deadman's Cross Novel
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publication Date: May 9, 2017
Find: Amazon | Goodreads | B&N | Book Depository
Hell On Earth

When the Chthonians brought the primal gods to a truce at the end of their great war, part of the pact they forged was that the worst of the evil the gods had unleashed against each other and mankind would be forever banished.

But forever is a long time. And nothing can contain those determined to find a way back.

To catch evil, it takes evil . . .

While Thorn is able to contain the demons unleashed on the ground, the ones who prey on the innocent sailors and sea faring travelers are beyond his reach.

For the sake of humanity, he makes a shaky alliance with an old foe, Marcelina. In the form of the ship they sail upon, she assembles a team under the command of Captain Devlyn Nathaniel Bane, one of the most notorious and bloodthirsty pirates to ever sail the high seas.

Damned and murdered by his own, Bane is out for revenge. With his own secret agenda, he agrees to take charge of the motley crew of pirates and brigands, and to protect the seas from the preternatural terrors that seek to devour every unwary soul they can take.

Theirs is a sacred and deadly task, as they are hunted by their prey and human authorities alike. If they fail, the world will fall to the ancient gods of chaos, and anarchy will reign. Most of all, the Southern gate, where the greatest, most powerful darkness is imprisoned, will be opened and there will be no stopping it.

It’s yo ho ho and a bottle of high seas stakes where the souls of all humanity are the ultimate prize and bargaining chip.

25 April 2017

Caught Looking: Release Blast & Giveaway

Sometimes loving enough means letting go…

Jody Holford
Releasing April 25, 2017

Sometimes loving enough means letting go…

Major league baseball player, Ryan Walker, takes a mandatory leave of absence to escape the paparazzi and the false drug charges against him. All he wants is a little peace of mind out in the middle of nowhere.

Eager to rid herself of the empty socialite life, Frankie Vaughn moves to a rundown home in Minnesota that she inherited from her aunt. But Frankie is shocked at what she discovers inside: three young boys. When Ryan discovers that Frankie, his new neighbor, has taken on the three homeless kids as her own, he has a new hope for humanity.

Despite how easily and lovingly Ryan takes to Frankie and the boys, his past just might be the reason Frankie can't adopt the boys. Now, Ryan must choose between loving them or letting them go. Can he walk away from what he's been looking for all along?

Blue Bottle Tree: Cover Reveal

Title: Blue Bottle Tree
Author: Beaird Glover
Publication Date: Oct. 24, 2017
Find: B&N | iTunes | Kobo
There’s no such thing as Voodoo. At least, that’s what most of the Baptists in Bellin tell themselves. But Seven LaVey knows better.
In a small rural town just outside of Nashville, Voodoo conjures and curses simmer and seethe under the noses of the many who will never know. Seventeen-year-old Seven romanticizes about the meaning of life while held captive as a zombie under the shell of a kiddie pool. He's counting on the strength - and maybe even love - of a certain redheaded clarinet player to save him. But will she?

Filled with betrayal and revenge, two families struggle with a curse that stretches back to Queen of the Voodoos Marie Laveau in this contemporary Southern Gothic adventure. Prepare for a wildly original twist on the paranormal.